Island District

BC map showing Island District in red

 

The Island District encompasses Vancouver Island, its related coastal islands and the north half of the Sunshine Coast located on BC's mainland.Vancouver Island has a population of approximately 750,000 residents, a number which grows significantly in the warm summer months with tourists from around the globe.

The RCMP polices the vast majority of communities on Vancouver Island, ranging from Port Hardy in the north to the Western Communities in the south, and Tofino/Ucluelet on the west coast to Powell River on the Sunshine Coast. We also deliver policing services to a number of First Nation communities around Vancouver Island, as well as many small coastal island communities which surround the larger island.

RCMP marine assets located at various communities around Vancouver Island assist our officers in policing the picturesque and rugged coastal waters, while our Comox based helicopter assists in reaching the more remote land and mountainous areas across the island.

By land, sea and air, we proudly work with various partner agencies to keep Vancouver Island and its surrounding islands safe places to live, work and visit.

Contact an Island District Media Relation Officer >

Current Island District News

11:32 PST (Tuesday, Jan 3, 2023) - Comox Valley
10:03 PST (Tuesday, Jan 3, 2023) - Comox Valley
08:42 PST (Monday, Jan 2, 2023) - West Shore
10:38 PST (Thursday, Dec 29, 2022) - Nanaimo
16:08 PST (Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022) - Sidney North Saanich
15:39 PST (Wednesday, Dec 21, 2022) - Nanaimo
15:53 PST (Friday, Dec 16, 2022) - Comox Valley
11:29 PST (Thursday, Dec 15, 2022) - Nanaimo, Port Alberni
10:58 PST (Thursday, Dec 15, 2022) - Nanaimo
09:00 PST (Thursday, Dec 15, 2022) - Port Alberni
12:52 PST (Wednesday, Dec 14, 2022) - Tofino, Vancouver Island Integrated Major Crime Unit
08:00 PST (Tuesday, Dec 13, 2022) - Nanaimo, Port Alberni
13:10 PST (Friday, Dec 9, 2022) - Nanaimo
15:30 PST (Monday, Dec 5, 2022) - Port Alberni
15:00 PST (Monday, Dec 5, 2022) - Port Alberni
Date modified: