Coquitlam RCMP launch new road safety initiative

Coquitlam

2023-01-19 10:43 PST

File # Public Service Announcement

Coquitlam RCMP is launching a new road safety initiative through High Accident Zone Enforcement (HAZE) and High Visibility Enforcement (HVE). As part of this initiative, Coquitlam RCMP will be sharing our Traffic Enforcement’s operations and enforcement calendar.

Coquitlam RCMP’s Traffic Enforcement Team will be targeting specific areas in order to reduce harm. These areas have statistically experienced a large number of collisions with significant damage and injuries. This type of strategy is called HAZE – or High Accident Zone Enforcement.

In order to deter, reduce harm and change unlawful traffic behaviours, Coquitlam RCMP’s Traffic Enforcement Team will also be highly visible in some of their enforcement strategies. This technique is known as HVE – or High Visibility Enforcement. HVE combines visible and proactive law enforcement targeting a specific traffic safety issue.

Through HAZE and HVE, we hope to combine the visual elements of police presence to an area and a publicity strategy to educate the public and promote voluntary compliance with the law, said Corporal Alexa Hodgins of Coquitlam RCMP.

January Calendar

Sunday, January 8

Monday, January 9

Tuesday, January 10

Wednesday, January 11

Monday, January 16

Tuesday, January 17

Wednesday, January 18

Thursday, January 19

Tuesday, January 24

Wednesday, January 25

Thursday, January 26

Friday, January 27

Released by

Cpl. Alexa Hodgins
Media Relations Officer
Coquitlam RCMP
2986 Guildford Way, Coquitlam, B.C V3B 7Y5
Office: 604-945-1580

Email: coquitlam_media@rcmp-grc.gc.ca
Website: coquitlam.rcmp-grc.gc.ca (English only)

Follow Us:

Date modified: