Island District

BC map showing Island District in red

 

The Island District encompasses Vancouver Island, its related coastal islands and the north half of the Sunshine Coast located on BC's mainland.Vancouver Island has a population of approximately 750,000 residents, a number which grows significantly in the warm summer months with tourists from around the globe.

The RCMP polices the vast majority of communities on Vancouver Island, ranging from Port Hardy in the north to the Western Communities in the south, and Tofino/Ucluelet on the west coast to Powell River on the Sunshine Coast. We also deliver policing services to a number of First Nation communities around Vancouver Island, as well as many small coastal island communities which surround the larger island.

RCMP marine assets located at various communities around Vancouver Island assist our officers in policing the picturesque and rugged coastal waters, while our Comox based helicopter assists in reaching the more remote land and mountainous areas across the island.

By land, sea and air, we proudly work with various partner agencies to keep Vancouver Island and its surrounding islands safe places to live, work and visit.

Contact an Island District Media Relation Officer >

Current Island District News

13:00 PST (Sunday, Mar 3, 2024) - Campbell River
17:43 PST (Friday, Mar 1, 2024) - B.C., Sidney North Saanich
08:00 PST (Thursday, Feb 29, 2024) - Nanaimo
13:08 PST (Wednesday, Feb 28, 2024) - Comox Valley, Vancouver Island Integrated Major Crime Unit
16:08 PST (Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024) - West Shore, Can You Identify
10:39 PST (Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024) - Nanaimo, Wanted Warrant
09:20 PST (Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024) - Oceanside
08:40 PST (Tuesday, Feb 27, 2024) - Nanaimo
09:00 PST (Monday, Feb 26, 2024) - Nanaimo, Wanted Warrant
12:01 PST (Sunday, Feb 25, 2024) - Nanaimo, Information Wanted
13:14 PST (Friday, Feb 23, 2024) - Comox Valley, This Is What We Do, This Is Who We Are
12:21 PST (Thursday, Feb 22, 2024) - Comox Valley, Can You Identify
16:25 PST (Wednesday, Feb 21, 2024) - Port Alberni
14:48 PST (Wednesday, Feb 21, 2024) - Oceanside, Missing Person
09:31 PST (Tuesday, Feb 20, 2024) - Shawnigan Lake
11:00 PST (Monday, Feb 19, 2024) - Island District
07:41 PST (Monday, Feb 19, 2024) - Campbell River
07:00 PST (Monday, Feb 19, 2024) - Lake Cowichan
13:22 PST (Friday, Feb 16, 2024) - Campbell River, Quadra Island
Date modified: