Island District

BC map showing Island District in red

 

The Island District encompasses Vancouver Island, its related coastal islands and the north half of the Sunshine Coast located on BC's mainland.Vancouver Island has a population of approximately 750,000 residents, a number which grows significantly in the warm summer months with tourists from around the globe.

The RCMP polices the vast majority of communities on Vancouver Island, ranging from Port Hardy in the north to the Western Communities in the south, and Tofino/Ucluelet on the west coast to Powell River on the Sunshine Coast. We also deliver policing services to a number of First Nation communities around Vancouver Island, as well as many small coastal island communities which surround the larger island.

RCMP marine assets located at various communities around Vancouver Island assist our officers in policing the picturesque and rugged coastal waters, while our Comox based helicopter assists in reaching the more remote land and mountainous areas across the island.

By land, sea and air, we proudly work with various partner agencies to keep Vancouver Island and its surrounding islands safe places to live, work and visit.

Contact an Island District Media Relation Officer >

Current Island District News

06:40 PDT (Friday, Jun 21, 2024) - West Shore
14:22 PDT (Tuesday, Jun 18, 2024) - Nanaimo, Missing Person
15:08 PDT (Monday, Jun 17, 2024) - Nanaimo, Missing Person
17:31 PDT (Friday, Jun 14, 2024) - North Cowichan/Duncan, Island District
14:43 PDT (Friday, Jun 14, 2024) - Nanaimo
07:26 PDT (Wednesday, Jun 12, 2024) - Campbell River
07:17 PDT (Monday, Jun 3, 2024) - West Shore, This Is What We Do
14:21 PDT (Friday, May 31, 2024) - West Shore
07:25 PDT (Wednesday, May 29, 2024) - West Shore
06:40 PDT (Wednesday, May 29, 2024) - West Shore
12:37 PDT (Tuesday, May 28, 2024) - Comox Valley, Missing Person
08:51 PDT (Tuesday, May 28, 2024) - West Shore
13:55 PDT (Thursday, May 23, 2024) - Nanaimo
13:40 PDT (Wednesday, May 22, 2024) - Nanaimo
13:46 PDT (Tuesday, May 21, 2024) - Comox Valley
11:16 PDT (Tuesday, May 21, 2024) - West Shore
Date modified: