About the Sunshine Coast RCMP

The Sunshine Coast Detachment of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is located in the District of Sechelt, on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia.

We have Community Policing offices in Gibsons and Pender Harbour.

Our policing area spans from Port Mellon to Egmont including:

Our community is along the 139 kilometers of Highway 101. According to Statistics Canada, the population of our policing area is nearly 30,000 (2016 Census).

Our Detachment has 35 regular members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, 11 office support staff and a Victim Services Coordinator. In addition to the General Duty policing section, there are specialized sections of police officers in Traffic Services, First Nations Policing, Youth Intervention, and Serious Crimes.

The Sunshine Coast Detachment's police officers also patrol various areas of the coast via Mountain Bikes, ATV's and a police boat.

The detachment is complemented with outstanding volunteers in the areas of Auxiliary Constables, Citizens on Patrol, Speed Watch, Victim Services, Crime Stoppers and Restorative Justice.

Date modified: